WHY DON’T INFIELDERS DROP LINE DRIVES IN DOUBLE PLAY SITUATIONS? Buddy Van Alstyne’s comment reminds me of something that has bothered me all the years I’ve been watching baseball. In a situation where the infield fly rule would apply —for example, less than two out and a runner on first base—why do you never see an infielder drop a line drive hit right at him? In the right circumstances, it could lead to a double play or, at least, to substituting a slower runner on first base. It could be a risky play if the fielder has doubts on whether he can make sure the ball falls at his feet, but you would think that it would happen some of the time.
Since I don’t know of a good rule change to prevent this kind of gamesmanship, I’m glad that nobody has tried this.